Featured Success Couple: Allison & Ryan

“He never turns down ice cream…”

Allison & Ryan

When Ryan and I met for our first date, I remember leaving with my cheeks hurting because I had been smiling so much! We were so compatible and just hit it off from that very first date.

We quickly learned that we shared a competitive side and the beginning of our relationship was filled with playful rivalry from darts and bowling to Skee ball!

I’ll never forget that first kiss, it was our third date and neither of us wanted to leave so we ended up hanging out and talking until 2AM–an 8 hour marathon date! It was the night before Christmas Eve and it was frigid and snowy, but I was living in Hoboken at the time so Ryan walked me to the Path Train. Ryan was new to NYC and had never seen Washington Square Park, one of my favorites, so we detoured a bit so he could see it. As I pointed out the arch that was framing the most beautifully lit up Christmas tree, he leaned over and kissed me. I could hardly feel my nose, but I definitely felt the butterflies!

Our first big trip together was in May when we went to the Hamptons for Ryan’s friend Lisa’s fundraiser for the Leukemia Lymphoma Society. We stayed at this little hotel called the Hampton Maid and that night, bundled up out on the balcony with a bottle of wine, Ryan and I talked for the first time about our future together and about someday tying the knot.

Fast forward through a wonderful year full of exciting travel, learning to juggle the holidays and generally just merging our lives together and we were back at the Hampton Maid for a much needed weekend of decompressing after a long, cold winter…or so I thought…

We spent Saturday morning riding bikes around Southampton, relaxing on the beach and even touring a 6 million dollar open house, just for kicks. On the way back to the hotel, we stopped at the liquor store to grab a bottle of wine for the evening and Ryan was hell bent on getting champagne, and not just any champagne but my favorite, really expensive champagne. When I protested that it was a waste of money his response was: “Ehh when in the Hampton’s, right!?” So I gave in and we headed back to the hotel…Veuve Clicquot Rose in hand.

Now, this next part requires some background info…ever since we started talking about getting married someday, it has been a running joke that Ryan was going to propose with a Ring pop….

So, I walk into the hotel room and there are 120 ring pops arranged in the shape of a heart on the bed! Mind you, I am COMPLETELY oblivious, thinking that this won’t happen for another 3-6 months! So, of course I start “OH MY GOD-ing” and of course Ryan starts to cry! But he quickly pulls it together and says “So, I thought that 120 ring pops would be enough, but then, I thought you deserved more.” At which point he gets down on one knee and pulls out the most beautiful ring I have ever seen, and asks me the million dollar question: “Will you marry me?” And that’s when I started to cry. (and said yes, of course!)

Once the shock wore off a bit we made all of the obligatory phone calls and then went out to celebrate at Oaklands where we watched the most beautiful sunset over our fantastic meal! After dinner I suggested going into town for a walk and some gelato but Ryan insisted on going back to the hotel for some more wine. “I am too full,” he said. Well that was my first clue something else was up–Ryan never turns down ice cream! But I figured it was some special dessert from the hotel or some more champagne, so I just went along with it. But back at the hotel there was no dessert and we sat out on the balcony in the freezing cold since he insisted we leave the ring pop heart intact for a few more hours. We sat for an hour as I grilled him on all the details of how he had pulled this off. He had apparently been scheming since January and had asked my parents while we were out in Park City while my sisters distracted me in the other room!

Just when I thought the surprises were over, there was a knock on the door. Ryan feigns a surprised look and tells me to see what it is. Again, I figured dessert of some sort, but when I opened the door, there were 7 familiar faces staring back at me! My Mom, Dad, 2 sisters and Ryan’s Mom, step-dad and sister! “SURPRISE!” they shouted, cameras flashing and wine bottles raised! They were apparently supposed to surprise me at breakfast to join us on our winery tour but Ryan, like a kid on Christmas morning, couldn’t wait one more minute!

The next day we all went on a winery tour around the North Fork to top off a wonderful weekend. I could not have asked for a better start to the next chapter in Ryan and my life together!

To this day when people ask where we met, I proudly say, Match.com! And people are always shocked that two people so in love and so perfect for each other could have met online. We feel so blessed that we listened to our friends and family and joined because I can’t imagine my life without my best friend, confidante and soon-to-be hubby!

 

Read more Match.com success stories here!

Try Match.com for free today here!

4 Comments

  1. abby
    Posted September 6, 2011 at 9:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    love is soooooooooo beautiful…..

  2. Linda
    Posted September 7, 2011 at 12:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    So happy for the two of you. My current boyfriend, oops started thru match.com. He truely makes me happy. I had been on match for almost a year. Met some nice guys,some scam artist and just when I thought there would never be the right match, Frank showed up in my mail box. I can’t imagine life without him. I’m not sure yet how it will all turn out, but currently we are very happy together. Thanks match.com

  3. Sandy
    Posted September 9, 2011 at 5:45 am | Permalink | Reply

    Such a beautiful and touching story. I am very happy for both of you. It’s nice to have somebody to love and hug. As yet I have no one and it is a bit sad that my life is so empty.

  4. Posted September 19, 2011 at 10:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    This sounds like a fairy tale…happily ever after. I am determined to let love in again. I believe that the close, caring of a loving person can only enrich my already delightful life. It is science that a good couple lives a longer, more satisfying life; I want some for me!

Leave a Reply

