Featured Success Couple: Natalie & Steve

“Where I first discovered you hate beans”

It was a rainy Sunday evening early last May and I was fed UP with the male species. I thought I would cure this frustration with some good ole man bashing. So I logged on to Match.com and started thumbs downing all the losers, really awful I know, but it was going to make me ‘feel better’!

Much to my surprise there he was, ‘If you don’t like to dance at weddings, it probably won’t work out.’ Not only was his catch line witty, he was way handsome too!! I winked my free wink his way and he winked one back. So excited in the quick wink response I was even more thrilled when he wanted to chat! Only, chatting requires a ‘real’ membership to Match, you know, with fees. I thought about the 70 or so dollars I had sitting in my account and weighed my options of having only 25-30 dollars to get me by for the next few days. After all, this guy could be a total creeper! So I took a risk and anted up the $35 bucks needed to chat with this guy.

Luckily for me, this guy turned out to be the man of my dreams. Over the past year he has courted me in many ways, making me feel special with his gentle-hearted nature and genuine compassion in all things, evident enough of his love for life and for me.

The reason I write to tell you about Steve and me is, this past Tuesday, May 10, 2011, Steve left flowers in my mailbox with a card instructing me to meet him at Chisholm Creek Wildlife Center, ‘where he first discovered I hated beans.’ We had one of our first dates there, where he made a lovely fresh food picnic, with a HUGE bean salad!! Only, being that it was one of our first dates, he had no idea how much I hated beans!! For the record, I tried a bite of the bean salad it was pretty good, only a bite though… I felt really bad.

Anyway, back to Tuesday. I rushed over to the park, heart pounding, trying to calm myself down and trying to touch up my make-up in the car, yes, true. I wanted to look nice but I also didn’t want to have any expectations. Why did Steve want me to meet him outside on a rainy Tuesday evening? I was so confused but secretly really excited for what was maybe about to happen?! I pulled up and walk over to the gazebo where Steve was sitting. From a distance he looked a little nervous but still, I was trying to make no speculations.

Once I arrived to the bench where we ate several months ago, Steve confessed to me that he had not been at the hospital that day but that he had been tracking my dad down so he could talk to him. I, not sure what to say, asked, why were you talking to my dad? This is when he got down on one knee and asked me to spend the rest of my life with him!! I said YES!! We shared a bottle of sparkling white wine and enjoyed the partially stormy weather as a newly engaged couple!

I can hardly believe it is happening but I am so excited that I get to share this time with so many people that I love and care about!! I am SUPER blessed to have found Steve and can’t wait to spend the rest of my life with him!

We have set our wedding date, Saturday, January 7, 2012 in Wichita, KS.

-Natalie

Read more Match.com success stories here!

Try Match.com for free today here!

Leave a Reply

